Shoe Bites: Farsi, Spanish, French and a Little Latin

Our daily spoken English is often the most unromantic, uninspiring (sounding) language, but amazingly it spread amongst so many nations to become a common language. However, I’ve been trying to increase my verbosity by finding intriguing phrases from other languages to pepper my daily speech. Below are some of my favourites.

# 1 Ushta Te

Say it and automatically feel a sense of happiness. I had a bit of trouble translating it, but the gist is – an awakening to radiant light for you, or a dawn of radiant light for you. I have no doubt that a lot of this farsi phrase looses its meaning and feeling in English, but I’ve been saying it all day, sort of like a meditation. It conjures up a feeling of gratitude and happiness for me personally.

# 2 Volver a Creer

This is Spanish for ‘to believe again.’ I was doing some wedding research for my boss, when I came upon these gorgeous wedding cards that has this written on them. The graphic designer explained that it meant – to believe again. Having just recently been opened up to The Secret and The Power. Something about it stuck me as the right saying for this happy time in my life.

# 3 Dernier Cri

It’s french, which translated means ‘the latest fashion’ or  ‘the last word.’ I can’t wait to use this at one of my fashion parties, quietly drop it in, when talking about a new designer I chanced upon. It might sound a bit cliche, using french words when talking about fashion, which makes me believe I’d probably blurt it out when arguing about something political. Lord knows our politicians have a whole lot of colourful ‘dernier cris.’

# 4 Quid Pro Quo

This has a funny story, my ex and I were playfully arguing about something (can’t remember now) when he ended the conversation with Quid Pro Quo, which to me sounded like… he’d just won that argument. I asked him what that meant to which the response I got, with corresponding facial expression, was “where were you schooled.” Apparently in India the use of Latin words are not always part of our syllabus as opposed to mr.smarty pant’s European education. It means – This for that, or Tit for Tat in Latin. Since then I’ve been using it quite frequently, and I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets dumfounded when hearing it for the first time.

Leave a Reply

