Shoe Bites: Make Up Trends at THe Oscars 2012 – Emma Stone, Angelina Jolie, Jennifer Lopez & Jessica Chastain

It’s not only the fashion that takes center stage when it comes to the Oscars. Make up and hair are also the benchmark for many salons, brides and make up junkies (like myself) for the entire year. I’ve always added make up tutorials to the blog, because I love to sit in front of my mirror and try to transform my look. The make up at the Oscars are going to be my inspiration for many events coming up. Considering Lakmé Fashion Week is just around the corner, I need all the ideas I can get!

flick eyeliner, Emma Stone, Jennifer Lopez, Jessical Chastain, Oscars 2012

I’m a huge fan of the flick when it comes to eyeliner, and wear it almost everyday, in fact the day I didn’t apply eyeliner, my colleague thought i was sick!  It’s important to really know how to do the flick, I suggest going on youtube and searching for a tutorial that suits you best, I learnt from the Pixiwoo Marlene Dietrich video. So whether you choose to go simple like Emma Stone and Jessica Chastain, or all glam like Jennifer Lopez, it’s a look that’s here to stay.

crimson lips, Angelina Jolie, Milla Jovovish, Rooney Mara, Oscars 2012

The best way to tempt any many is to find that perfect shade of red for your pout. Angelina Jolie, Milla Jovovich and Rooney Mara all looked sensational with their bright crimson lips. I suggest going to a proper make up store or section and applying all the red lipstick till you find the one you are most comfortable with. Remember to shock with the colour and not be timid or it’ll look like an after thought, so be bold with your choice, it’s a look that’s meant to stand out.

Natural, Michelle Williams, Judy Greer, Gwyneth Paltrow, Oscar 2012

There is nothing like the ‘no makeup’ make up, natural looking tones and just enough high light to make it look as if you woke up looking this brilliant. Judy Greer, Michelle Willams and Gwyneth Paltrow kept their Oscar make up neutral and complimentary. It’s hard work to get it right, but once you’ve got the knack and the correct products it’s a look you’ll keep running back to. For our skin tones, it’s difficult and crucial to get the right shades, I use Bobbi Brown, as she has great warmer shades to suit us. Also watch out for the loose powder that you use to set your make up, often enough if you use a lighter shade, when you get photographed your face ends up looking ghostly white!

Leave a Reply

