Toe Tappers: Warpaint ‘Elephants’

Just like me you may not have heard of this group until today, a friend of mine suggested I listen to it a while back. Being caught up in life as we know it, I didn’t listen today until about 2 hours ago, and ever since, I’ve been listening to them non stop. My favorite song so far, although I still have much to learn about this band is the song Elephants. They’ve been around since 2004, so what have I been doing since then!? The band consists of Emily Kokal who’s vocals give you the chills down you spine. The rest include Theresa Wayman (guitar, vocals), Jenny Lee Lindberg (bass, vocals), and Stella Mozgawa (drums). Their sound may not be everyone’s cuppa joe but it’ll grown on you. I suggest you listen to this one first and then Ashes to Ashes a David Bowie cover.

elephants

I love the all white styling of the video, it has that broken down doll look that is just what I imagined the band to look like before I saw who they were. Plus don’t they have that whole dead angels sent from above to haunt you sort of vibe? I’m digging it, are you?

Lyrics:

I’ll break your heart
To keep you far from where
All dangers start
And atmosphere

Gets crazy life
Where every breath transpires
And to a star
Space stars (?) come about you

They call me a thief
They call me a thief
Call me a thief
Call me a thief
Common thief
Common thief
Common thief
Call me
Call me

So i know that you’re not that you’re not here
Sort of lost without you
I hope that you find all there is that
you want, is inside you now.

I’ll break your heart
To keep you far from where
All dangers start
I’m on my way
I’m on my way down

I know, that’s you’re not that you’re not here
Sort of lost without you
I hope, that you find all there is that
You want is inside you now

I know that
You’re not here
I wonder where you are

In the war (?)
We are waiting for you
With your dying need for ….
hold on right now
We won’t let you fall

We are waiting for you
With you dying need for ….
hold on right now
We won’t let you fall

Leave a Reply

