Toe Tappers: The XX ‘Night Time’

whats in a name

I have been going to sleep the last few nights with Romy Madley Croft, Oliver Sim voices and Jamie Smith’s musical fingers – I’ve been sleeping blissfully. I’ve gone on at length about how awe inspiring their voices and band are, but I never seem to be able to articulate the feelings they conjure up. I wish I could stuff Oliver Sim in my pillow,  so that when ever I laid my head, it’s his soothing yet haunting whisper I’d hear. Yes creepy but you know you’d want that too. I really like the video above for many reasons but mainly because when the RJ screws up Oliver’s name (he’d been doing that all night with Romy) You actually see him SMILE! Yes the band members do in fact smile and even laugh. If you have 20 mins to spare, then watch the video below, where you get a better more intimate insight into the core of the XX.

about to sing

I do hope at some point in their career they come to India, I’m not nearly rich enough to jet set to see my favourite band play. So till then here’s hoping I don’t have to wait to long.

trinity

Lyrics:

You mean that much to me
And it’s hard to show
Gets hectic inside of me
When you go
Can I confess these things
To you
Well I don’t know
Embedded in my chest
And it
Hurts to holdI couldn’t spill my heart
My eyes gleam looking in from the dark
I walk out in stormy weather
Hold my words, keep us together
Steady walking but bound to trip
Should release but just tighten my grip

Night time
Sympathize
I’ve been working on
White lies
So I’ll tell the truth
I’ll give it up to you
And when the day come
It will have all been fun
We’ll talk about it soon

And I couldn’t spill my heart
My eyes gleam
Looking in from the dark
I walk out in stormy weather
Hope my words keep us together
Steady walking but bound to trip
Should release but just tighten my grip

Night time
Sympathize
I’ve been working on
White lies
So I’ll tell the truth
I’ll give it up to you
And when the day come
It will have all been fun
We’ll talk about it soon

Leave a Reply

