Toe Tappers: The XX ‘Shelter’

If you don’t know The XX, then your life is about to be changed. I hear so many people (the older generation) say that our music has no substance and won’t last like those bands from the 70s/80s. Well I beg to differ, bands like The XX have proved that music although different from the old days, does have the same effect that theirs did.

the xx

Main singer Oliver Sim has a haunting quality that pulls at your darkest and deepest secrets. To counter that heavy feeling is the other lead singer Romy Madley-Croft who’s earnest voice makes you feel the heartache and the mysterious romanticism that the lyrics carry. Rounding off the group are Jamie Smith and Baria Qureshi (ex band member) who lend their musical talents that make their music sound like nothing we’ve ever heard. If you’re not in the mood to hear the melancholic original version thenIi suggest the slightly upbeat remix below.

It was extremely difficult to choose just one song form The XX that I connect with. Yet, I selected ‘Shelter’ because it screams the words that so many of us at some point of the other want to say. Especially when it comes to the CA Banker boy. Yeah, I’m as fed up as you are about mentioning him so much! Here are those brilliant lyrics (favorite lines in bold as usual).

I find shelter, in this way
Under cover, hide away
Can you hear, when I say?
I have never felt this way

Maybe I had said, something that was wrong
Can I make it better, with the lights turned on
Maybe I had said, something that was wrong
Can I make it better, with the lights turned on

Could I be, was I there?
It felt so crystal in the air
I still want to drown, whenever you leave
Please teach me gently, how to breathe

And I’ll cross oceans, like never before
So you can feel the way I feel it too
And I’ll mirror images back at you
So you can see the way I feel it too

Maybe I had said, something that was wrong
Can I make it better, with the lights turned on
Maybe I had said, something that was wrong
Can I make it better, with the lights turned on

Maybe I had said, something that was wrong
Can I make it better, with the lights turned on

Leave a Reply

