5. Betty (is no slave to fashion)

This is Betty, she’s hot and she knows it, so watch out boys – I think it’s because she met the designer of BCBG (not sure though). My first day out with Betty was day 3 of Lakmé Fashion Week. It was the most eventful day, we got surprised by my cousin, got filmed for a website and even met Sabyasachi Mukerjee’s family! Plus other random fun things that only happen at LFW. 

Bloggers at Work


Many of you already know that I work for MissMalini.com (you can read my blogs for her HERE). So for LFW, part of my job is to go see the shows, write about them and do other fun stuff, like go to this blogger meet. Thank God I had Betty that day, because I wasn’t really camera ready. I decided to go very simple with my style that day, just a simple t-shirt and maxi skirt. It was a super fun event by Fashionandyou.com who I bought my first Versace lipstick from! Unfortunately we couldn’t stay long because we had to go check out some beauty products at the main show area.

P.S – Doesn’t Ranjit Rodricks look super cool in the Pink wayfarers?

Beauty Moments

beauty moment

Yes yes, we all love our make up, especially when it’s not yet in the market, and your advice will help their research! yikes! Fellow journalist Jahnabee Borah and I headed to the Lakmé Fab lab, I was calling it the Fat lab for some odd reason, to check out their make up. Let me tell you ladies, the make up smells amazing, and the colours go well with out complexion, so difficult to find right?

Shussh, It’s not good to swear!

At the lounge, you see many things, like women with dresses too short and displaying way too much underwear, YUCK! Turning my eyes to nicer things, I spotted this doctor’s/ pollution mask (pic above). I’m not a big swear-er, okay I LIE, but still it’s quite offensive, especially at fashion week; to insult someone there you do it with a bit of bitch and panache. Eg – That skirt is so ridiculous, I think I might buy it just to use it as a swab clothes for the garage. I love that mask said No Say “FUCK”. I thought it was brilliant because when you wear it, you really shouldn’t swear, would be ironic!

Sabyasachi’s Family

It’s always a highlight at any fashion week to see a Sabyasachi Mukherjee collection. Some are used to his genius but I never tire of it, especially when you see his foray into children clothing. The whole show was his view of the modern indian family. I loved the colours, the simplicity and the subtle embroidery. What really made my day though, was having my two cousins with me, to enjoy the perks of fashion week.

Family Fun

These are my lucky cousin’s Tanya Lobo and Andre Colaço who got to come with Betty and I to LFW. It’s very hard to get passes for the shows but luckily one of my favourite designers (for party wear) Vizyon gave me two for their show. The lounges are the real reason why non fashion people want to come to fashion week. To sit back and enjoy a free drink, we all know how expensive they are in clubs now days right! My cousin Tanya (with encouragement from Andre) decided to have a couple, exactly two of these cookie flavoured drinks and started to get tipsy. Having never seen her drink before and also being terrified by her mom and grandmom I got a bit nervous of sending her home like that. Thankfully she sobered up (also Andre told the bar tender to go easy on the alcohol in her drinks) before she got home! Although, It was funny to see her sway but also really surprising!

One response to “5. Betty (is no slave to fashion)

  1. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But just imagine if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this website could definitely be one of the best in its niche. Very good blog!

Leave a Reply

